校友及發展辦公室於11月25-27日在澳大校園舉辦首屆「校友愛回家」活動,吸引約一百五十多人次參與,當中包括有畢業於1987年、1997及2007年的校友。他們均表示能重返校園慶祝畢業三十週年、二十週年及十週年,以及見證自畢業後母校的最新發展,非常有意義。

為表示歡迎之意,校友及發展辦公室首日於澳大賓館宴會廳設午宴款待各位返校的校友,並邀得工商管理學院院長蘇育洲教授及各校友會領導代表一同參與。席間各校友皆藉此機會互相認識及問候,閒聊一番。午宴後,各項導賞活動隨即開始。在蘇院長及工商管理學院同事帶領下,校友來到工商管理學院參觀了湯森路透金融交易實驗室、貨幣博物館、博彩實驗室以及展覽實驗室。學院亦準備了茶點款待校友,讓校友們倍感窩心。校友們除了可以回到自己所屬學院參觀外,亦參觀了澳大兩所最早設立的書院之一─何鴻燊東亞書院,並獲書院導師黃博士熱情接待。隨後在書院學生的帶領下,校友參觀了書院設施以及與同學分享了在住宿式書院生活的情況。

導賞結束後,終於來到了大夥們最期待的聯歡晚宴,當晚校長趙偉教授亦出席晚宴與校友會面及拍照。他在晚宴致辭時感謝校友的支持及參與,並向他們報告大學最新的發展和成就。大家一邊品嚐西式自助晚宴,一邊欣賞精彩的學生表演;而晚宴也在愉悅的氣氛中圓滿結束。

緊接著的兩日活動,經校友及發展辦公室安排下,參加者可自由使用體育設施、圖書館及參加校園導賞,讓校友重溫大學生活。校友們表示十分享受是次活動,及對校園的發展及優美環境讚歎不已。他們希望辦公室能繼續多舉辦這類型活動,讓他們有機會重返母校。

The Alumni and Development Office (ADO) organized the first ever Alumni Homecoming Series from 25 to 27 November with over 150 participations for the program. Some of them were graduates from 1987, 1997 & 2007. They said that it was meaningful to return to campus to celebrate their 10th, 20th & 30th anniversary of graduation and to witness the latest development of the alma mater.

The welcome lunch was arranged at banquet hall on UM guesthouse on the first day activity. Prof Jacky So, Dean of Faculty of Business Administration (FBA) and alumni association’s leaders were invited to welcome the alumni participants. Alumni took this chance to meet new friends and mingle with each other during lunch. Afterwards, a guided tour to faculty and visit to residential college were arranged. Accompanied by Prof So & FBA colleagues, participants visited the Thomson Reuters Trading Room, Currency Museum, Gaming Laboratory and MICE Laboratory. The faculty also prepared light refreshment to serve the visitors so that they would feel more at home. Besides visiting home faculty, the alumni also visited the Stanley Ho East Asia College (SAEC).  This is one of the two pilot residential colleges in UM and they were warmly received by fellow Dr. Kevin Huang. Guided by RC students, the alumni toured around the college building and shared the daily life of student residents.  .

After the tour, it came to the highlight of the activity- the gala dinner. Rector Prof. Wei Zhao also came to meet the alumni and took photos with them. He expressed the gratitude for alumni’s support and participation. He also reported the progress of UM development and outcome. With fine food and wonderful performances, all participants enjoyed themselves to the fullest extent and the dinner also ended in a joyous atmosphere.

In the following two days, the Office arranged free access to sport venues and Library as well as campus tour for the participants to enjoy college life once again. Most of the alumni enjoyed the activity and appreciated the development and the beautiful scenery of the campus. They wished that ADO will continue to organize similar activity so that they get a chance to visit their alma mater again.