澳門大學(香港)校友會為感謝母校的栽培與教導,捐贈以「開卷有益」為題之石刻,鼓勵學生養成閱讀的好習慣。剪綵及揭幕儀式於5月28日上午在校友大道上舉行,適逢當日正值舉行2016年畢業典禮、以及今年為澳門大學三十五週年校慶,讓整個儀式更具意義。

剪綵儀式由校長趙偉、學生事務副校長程海東、教務長彭執中、校友及發展辦公室主任黃炳銓,澳大(香港)校友會主席徐潤培、副主席伍國賢、秘書李勇治、司庫龍卓華及杜偉強共同主持。隨後,主禮嘉賓聯同澳大(香港)校友會一行成員共同主持揭幕儀式。

儀式後,校友及發展辦公室亦設宴答謝澳大(香港)校友會。隨後,澳大(香港)校友會一行成員參觀校園,先後參觀了薈萃坊、劉少榮樓及澳門大學伍宜孫圖書館。

澳門大學(香港)校友會捐贈的石刻位於校友大道上,並與2015年及2016年之畢業生所贈之喬木相鄰。大學歡迎歷屆校友在校友大道上留下能夠代表校園回憶的紀念物,如種植不同的植物或建造紀念物,以表達校友對母校的關懷與支持。

To show gratitude towards the Alma Mater for education and nurture, the University of Macau (Hong Kong) Alumni Association (UMHKAA) presented a stone tablet to the University, inscribed with Chinese saying: Reading enriches the mind, in an effort to encourage students to read. The ribbon cutting and unveiling ceremony of the inscribed stone tablet was held at the Alumni Avenue in the morning of 28 May 2016. The day marks the UM Congregation 2016 and this year marks the 35th anniversary of UM, all make this ceremony a memorable and meaningful one.

The ribbon cutting ceremony was officiated by Rector Prof. Wei Zhao, Vice Rector of Student Affairs Prof. Haydn Chen, Register Paul Pang, Director of ADO Vong Peng Chun, and Chairman of UMHKAA Dr. Joseph Tsui, Vice-Chairman Gowin Ng, Secretary Lawrence Lee, Treasure Albert Long, and Mr. To Wai Keung. After that, the officiating guests together with the delegation of UMHKAA unveiled the stone.

As a token of thanks, ADO has arranged an appreciation lunch for the delegations of the UMHKAA. After the lunch, The delegations were invited to a campus tour to the University Mall, Anthony Lau Building and the UM Wu Yee Sun Library.

The inscribed stone tablet presented by UMHKAA is located at the Alumni Avenue and neighbored with trees planted by 2015 & 2016 UM graduates. The University hopes that every generation of graduates can leave on the avenue something (e.g. a tree, a stone) that they think can best represent their memories of their lives on the campus, showing care and support to the Alma Mater.