澳門1999年回歸以來,經濟飛躍發展,澳門高等教育也因應社會發展而不斷提升辦學規模和質素,以配合澳門特區政府的人才培養策略。澳門大學作為澳門唯一一所國際化綜合性公立大學,與澳門的發展一脈相連,肩負為澳門培養尖端人才的使命,並以先進研究驅動社會發展。過去20年,澳門和澳大都經歷了翻天覆地的變化,締造了良好的基礎。展望未來,澳大將如何在新的使命和發展之下創造更卓越的成績?

回歸後大學迅速發展

澳門回歸之後,是澳大迅速發展的新階段。澳門需要有一所現代化和國際化的大學,不僅滿足澳門的發展需要,更要與國際高等教育的發展模式接軌。有見及此,澳大開始研究修章,立法會也於2006年通過新的《澳門大學法律制度》及《澳門大學章程》,讓澳大可以實施國際化現代大學管理模式。

2009年,澳門回歸10年,是澳大發展里程碑的重要一年。這年,國家批准澳大在廣東省橫琴島建設新校區,並授權澳門特區依照澳門特區法律實施管轄,讓澳大有更優越的空間實踐辦學理念。同年,澳大發展基金會成立,以增強大學在國際上的競爭力,這是澳門特區政府支持高等教育發展的另一新嘗試,體現社會各界對澳大和澳門高等教育發展的大力支持。

新校園於2013年11月5日啟用,前後僅用了三年多時間完成設計、建築及搬遷,這是澳門高等教育史上的一個創舉,也為澳大提供了優越的辦學環境,並建立亞洲最具規模的住宿式書院系統,實踐全人教育。

20年前,澳大只有2,865名學生,今年學生已超過一萬人,校友遍佈澳門和全球。澳門大多數司法官員、法官、檢察官、律師、中學校長、主任、老師、教育工作者,以及三分之一以上的立法會議員等都是澳大校友,海外學生畢業回國後有擔任部長、高等法院法官、法學院教授等要職。

研究方面,澳大在科技和人文社科領域取得長足進步。根據國際論文資料庫科睿唯安Web of Science(WOS)顯示,澳大學者的高端學術期刊論文發表數目由2009年的140多篇增至2018年的1,500多篇,發表量翻了10倍;論文獲引用次數由2000年的30次增至2018年約24,400次,增加了800倍。工程學、化學、藥理學與毒理學、計算機科學、臨床醫學及社會科學總論這六大學科進入基本科學指標資料庫(ESI)前1%。

宋永華校長表示,無論是人才培養還是科學研究產出,澳大已經在全國、亞洲和國際上具有相當影響力,「總體來說,澳大與澳門過去20年的發展,可以說是經歷翻天覆地的變化。我們形成了特色鮮明的國際化辦學優勢,成就是以往難以想像的。」

配合澳門特區政府推動科技創新

澳大等高校於2018年向國家主席習近平呈交了一封聯名信。習主席其後回信並作出重要指示,希望澳門高校培養更多愛國愛澳人才,創造更多科技成果,助力澳門經濟適度多元可持續發展,助力粵港澳大灣區建設。

澳大一直注重學術研究和科技創新,在國家科技部及澳門特區政府的支持下,先後成立了三間國家重點實驗室,分別聚焦微電子、中醫藥和智慧城市物聯網,其先進研究已達世界一流標準。此外,澳大還建立了健康科學學院、應用物理及材料工程研究院、微電子研究院、認知與腦科學研究中心、人工智能研究中心、珠海澳大科技研究院等,拓展相關科技的前沿研究及發展,協力壯大澳門及國家的研究力量。

宋校長表示,除了不斷提升研究質量,澳大亦不懈推動師生促進知識轉移,推進科研成果的產業化和應用,目前積極協助科研團隊及相關部門紥實推進科技創新,爭取參與更多與國家級科研平台相關的建設,並協助科研團隊申請和參與粵港澳大灣區科技創新項目及申請跨境科研資金。

推動澳門高等教育國際化

為加速推動澳門高等教育國際化,澳大不斷拓展與海外大學的網絡,搭建更多國際合作研究平台,近年竭力提升葡語教學和中葡雙語人才培養的水平,並積極與葡語國家保持緊密聯繫,以及配合國家和澳門特區的政策,為來自「一帶一路」沿線國家和葡語國家的優秀學生提供獎學金或資助,鼓勵他們到澳大升學,為「一帶一路」及「一中心、一平台、一基地」建設作出貢獻。

澳大不僅為學生創建國際化辦學環境、積極提升國際聲譽,還不斷提升課程的國際競爭力。澳大課程獲國際認可,例如科技學院的土木工程理學士學位課程、計算機科學理學士學位課程、電機及電腦工程理學士學位課程和機電工程理學士學位課程,均通過香港工程師學會的全面學術評鑑,其中三個課程更獲《華盛頓協議》成員承認。工商管理學院獲得國際商學院聯合會認證,為澳門第一所榮獲該會認證的商學院。工商管理學院的理學士學位(會計學)課程獲澳洲、英國和香港等地的會計師公會認證,畢業生可於相關的專業考試獲豁免多數試卷。

經過多年努力,澳大教研實力穩步上揚,近年更晉身「泰晤士高等教育世界大學排名」和「Quacquarelli Symonds(QS)世界大學排名」前400,亞洲大學排名42,國際化發展第九。

來源:《澳大新語》第21期

Since its handover to China in 1999, Macao has experienced rapid economic growth, which in turn has led to an increased demand for professionals in various fields. To keep pace with the rapid change, higher education institutions in Macao have been trying to recruit more students and enhance their quality of education. The University of Macau (UM) is no exception. As the only public comprehensive university in Macao, UM is committed to contributing to the local and international communities through high-quality education and cutting-edge research. Both Macao and UM have experienced a sea change over the past 20 years. Looking ahead, how can UM build on this foundation to scale new heights and fulfil its new mission?

Fast Development Since Macao’s Handover to China

Macao’s handover to China ushered in a new era for UM, where the university experienced rapid development. At the time, Macao needed a modern and internationalised university, not only to meet the needs of a rapidly developing economy, but also to bring Macao in line with the global trends of higher education. In view of this, UM revised its Charter. In 2006, the Legislative Assembly of Macao passed the new Judicial Regime of the University of Macau and the new Charter of the University of Macau. The revised versions of these two documents enabled UM to implement a modern governance model in line with international practices.

The year 2009 marked the tenth anniversary of Macao’s return to China. It also represented an important milestone in UM’s history, because it was in this year that the central government approved the construction of a new UM campus on Hengqin Island, Guangdong province, and authorised Macao to exercise jurisdiction over the new campus. This unprecedented bill turned UM’s ‘new campus dream’ into a reality and allowed the university to pursue its educational ideals on a much larger campus. In the same year, the University of Macau Development Foundation (UMDF) was established, with the aim of enhancing UM’s global competitiveness. The UMDF represented a new endeavour on the part of the local government to support higher education development, and demonstrates the unreserved support of UM felt by people from all walks of society.

It took a little over three years for the new campus design, construction, and relocation to be completed. The new campus was inaugurated on 5 November 2013. An unprecedented project in Macao’s higher education history, the new campus provides an excellent environment for learning and teaching. Upon relocation to the new campus, the university built Asia’s largest residential college system to facilitate the implementation of whole-person education.

20 years ago, UM only had 2,865 students. Now, the number exceeds 10,000. UM alumni have become valuable members of society in different parts of the world. Most judicial officers, judges, prosecutors, attorneys, secondary school principals and teachers in Macao, as well as over one third of the members of the Legislative Assembly, are UM alumni.

On the front of scientific research, UM has also made significant progress in the fields of science and technology, humanities, and social sciences. According to statistics from the Web of Science, the number of papers published by UM scholars in renowned academic journals increased from around 140 in 2009 to over 1,500 in 2018, which is more than a ten-fold increase. The citation frequency of UM scholars’ published papers increased from 30 in 2000 to around 24,400 in 2018, an increase of 800 times. The university is now among the top 1 per cent in Essential Sciences Indicators (ESI) rankings in six subjects, namely Engineering, Chemistry, Pharmacology & Toxicology, Computer Science, Clinical Medicine, and Social Sciences, General.

According to Rector Yonghua Song, UM has become quite influential in China, Asia, and the world, for the quality of its graduates and its research output. He says, ‘Overall, both UM and Macao have experienced a sea change over the past 20 years, during which we have developed our distinctive characteristics and unique advantages. It would have been difficult to imagine back then what the university would accomplish in 20 years.’

Supporting the SAR Government’s Effort to Promote Technological Innovation

In 2018, UM and several other higher education institutions in Macao submitted a joint letter to President Xi Jinping. President Xi soon sent a reply letter, in which he gave important instructions and expressed his hope for higher education institutions in Macao to produce graduates with a love for China and Macao, and to create more results in science and technology, to support the diversification of Macao’s economy and the development of the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area.

UM has always attached great importance to academic research and innovation in science and technology. With the support of the Ministry of Science and Technology and the Macao government, the university has established three state key laboratories, focused on microelectronics, Chinese medicine, and Internet of Things applications for smart cities, respectively. The cutting-edge research conducted by the three labs has reached world-class standards. In addition, UM has established some new faculties and institutes to expand the frontiers of science and technology and to enhance the research capacity of Macao and China. These new institutes include the Faculty of Health Sciences, Institute of Applied Physics and Materials Engineering, Institute of Microelectronics, Centre for Cognitive and Brain Sciences, Centre for Artificial Intelligence, and Zhuhai UM Science & Technology Research Institute.

According to Rector Song, in addition to continuously enhancing the quality of research, UM also spares no effort to promote knowledge transfer and commercialisation of research results. For instance, it actively supports its researchers to carry out innovative research projects, to participate in the establishment of national scientific research platforms, and to apply for cross-border research grants and research projects in the Greater Bay Area.

Promoting the Internationalisation of Higher Education in Macao

To promote the internationalisation of higher education in Macao, UM is actively expanding its overseas network and building new platforms for international collaborative research. In recent years, the university has worked hard to enhance the quality of its Portuguese language education to produce high-calibre Chinese-Portuguese bilingual professionals. To achieve this end, it maintains close contact with universities in Portuguese-speaking countries. Moreover, it attracts outstanding students from Portuguese-speaking countries and countries covered in the Belt and Road Initiative with scholarships and other forms of sponsorship. Through these strategies, the university hopes to contribute to the Belt and Road Initiative and the Macao government’s plan to develop the city into a world centre for tourism and leisure and a service platform for trade between China and Portuguese-speaking countries and a base for cultural exchange and cooperation.

In addition to creating an international environment for teaching and learning and enhancing its international reputation, UM actively seeks to enhance the global competitiveness of its academic programmes. For instance, four programmes offered by the university’s Faculty of Science and Technology have received full accreditation from the Hong Kong Institution of Engineers (HKIE).

They are the Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering, the Bachelor of Science in Computer Science, the Bachelor of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering, and the Bachelor of Science in Electro- mechanical Engineering. Three of these programmes have also been recognised by members of the Washington Accord. The Faculty of Business Administration has earned accreditation from the prestigious Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business, becoming the first business school in Macao to be accredited by the association. The Bachelor of Science in Accounting programme offered by FBA has been accredited by CPA Australia, the Association of International Accountants in the United Kingdom, and the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants. Graduates of these programmes are exempt from most professional level examinations administered by these associations.

Through years of effort, UM’s research capacity is steadily increasing. In recent years, it is ranked among the top 400 universities in both the Times Higher Education (THE) World University Rankings and the Quacquarelli Symonds (QS) World University Rankings. In Asia, it is ranked No 42. In terms of international outlook, it is ranked No 9 in the THE World University Rankings.

Source: UMagazine Issue 21